Frances McCue


Where Richard Hugo Starts and Ends
March 4, 2010, 6:30 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

Less than a month from now, my new book will be in my hands. That’s a feeling of limbo, for sure. You anticipate this big thing coming at you, how the novelty of it, the heft in your palm, will change things. Since this is my first book in almost 18 years, I will be startled to see my name on the cover. I will be surprised to hold it.

But, honestly, The Car That Brought You Here Still Runs is a sad thing for me.

The book traces my journeys to small towns in Washington, Idaho and Montana. I went to these places, first on a whim, to see the region where I’d chosen to live. Accompanied by Hugo’s poems, I found the rivers where he’d fished. I was pulled into their names—Skykomish, Stillaguamish, Snohomish, Snoqualmie—and then into their waters. I put my finger to the map and traced Rock Creek, the Blackfoot and the Clark Fork. On one end of my travels, rivers led to the sea. On the other, they led to the Columbia, and then to the sea.

There were towns, too. Places like Wisdom and Philipsburg, Tahola and La Push. I pulled up barstools; I ordered sandwiches. I met Hugo’s friends and family. I ate at Ripley Hugo’s purple picnic table. I sat in Lois and Jim Welch’s cozy, wonderful living room. I slept in the meadow in front of Annick Smith’s log home.

But, the reason why the book is sad is not because of the rivers and towns. The book itself, as a narrative, is not sad. I travel with Gary, my sweet husband, and Maddy, my daughter, to many of these places and we discover them together. Gary and Maddy are in the book and the journey is one of mapping poems onto places, and then people onto poems, and then us, our little trio, mapping our own place in the world.

When the book was in production at the press, Gary died.

We were living in Morocco. One afternoon, he fell while he was playing basketball. Hit his head. And then, for Maddy and me, our worlds came apart. “Say your life broke down,” Hugo says. And it did.

And now, the book is coming out. And it reads just as it did when I wrote it. Before all this.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Dear Frances McCue

I want to say how very sorry I am for your loss, and send my condolences to you and your family.

I have been a fan of Hugo’s work for many years, and recently bought your wonderful book “The Car That Brought You Here Still Runs.” I loved your journey. It brought many of his poems to life for me in new, unexpected ways. So thank you.

warmest regards

James.

Comment by James Richards

James, thank you for your kind words. Best of journeys to you!

Frances

Comment by francesmccue




Leave a Reply

