Frances McCue


NaPoWriMo #10
April 11, 2013, 12:34 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

 

Anything Could Happen

They say it’s coming, the three-dimensional printer.
I will make a teapot. I will push print and out will come
A parking lot, a spoon, a wish-cloud of lace that I will
Wear. From a block of photopolymer or thermoplastic:
A box of wax, ten reams of paper. Poof! Ahem! Rumble!

It’s a prototype, my young friend says. Whatever comes out,
You can’t really use. But, we know these things will be useful.
I will hold the teapot, but I will not drink.
I will put sugar on the spoon, but I will not stir.
Models. So real, and so not—just like our poems.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love it!!! I feel honored to have been there at its inception 😉

Comment by cfdill54

Brilliant last line. 😀

Comment by caroljforrester

My favorite kind of poems are those I can imagine the poet reading aloud, even when I don’t know him or her. Perhaps especially then. Thanks for writing one.

Comment by Jeanne




Leave a Reply

